top of page

Blue Bossa Single Kalo Shore

Lead Vocalist Nemaa Koshuma

Kalo Shore Ele Lindaito (What Kind of Friend Are You) featuring vocalist Nemaa Koshuma and songwriter/producer Alex Lobulu. This A-minor composition adds electric guitar and synthesized beats as Lobulu merges influences of jazz and Maasai cultural flavor, creating a song that is easy to follow and truly unique.

The DNA of this composition is influenced deeply by Koshuma's constantly challenged livelihood of tradition competing with development across Maasailand. Jessey greeted Nemaa in 2016 where he worked full-time as a performer and maintenance engineer at the Four Seasons Serengeti. Nemaa is allowed work-leave every six weeks, which he uses to visit home in Kakesio Village Ngorongoro District; where at his core, pastoralism is his cultural identity. The transition home doesn't come without an interpersonal cost as ridicule and often judgments occur as increasing imbalances of resources exacerbates circumstances in the rangelands of Maasailand. Nemaa recognizes that diversifying through education and skill advancement is crucial to negotiating the ever-changing environment and hopes to use his talents and skills to advance the worldview of those in his community and the greater Ngorongoro District.

Inspiration Behind the Album Art

Kalo Shore Ele Lindaito is centered around Nemaa's pioneering spirit. His courage to use song to raise his voice about progress while keeping his mind about his traditions is truly admirable. I try to put myself in his shoes, into the labyrinth, the meandering path, the confusing human-made structures that affect life in Maasailand and the Serengeti. Circular elements weave their way into my designs as they are central in Maasai culture; from body marks to migration patterns in nature, to aerial views of the vast countryside dotted with circular bomas, you sense connectivity all around. The format is inspired by the nostalgic 12" vinyl record covers, paying homage to keeping the music (the story) alive.

"I want this artwork to serve as a beacon of hope, an actionable way for our fans to be the catalyst for budding talent in Maasailand." Jessey Jansen

Along with your VOM + JJ Limited Edition Album Art (edition of 10) you will receive:

  • Signed original artwork made from six vibrant layers of cut paper meticulously arranged and designed by Founder, Jessey Jansen

  • Password access to our Inner Circle including free music downloads of VOM full music catalog

  • Lyric translations

  • Special event invitations

  • Archival envelop or optional upgraded frame with museum glass

  • 50% of sale paid in royalty to artist(s) of song


Song Acknowledgments:

Vocals: Nemaa Koshuma & Catrina TZ

Song Composition/Production/Photography: Alex Lobulu

Graphic Design/Album Art: Jessey Jansen



bottom of page